Training

Training and Taster Days

If you’re interested in attending, or hosting, Training Days or Taster Days, please contact Jacqui Le Geyt (APEM trainee representative):


pemtraininguk@gmail.com

 

Training Days

Regional PEM training days run aiming to cover relevant topics from the level 2 paediatric curriculum and the paediatric emergency medicine curriculum. 

Please see the section "News for current PEM trainees" for more details and dates of the London regional training days.

 

Taster Days

If you're interested in finding out more about PEM as a subspeciality why not organise a taster day and spend some time on the shop floor.

Taster Days Aims

• To develop an insight into the work of the specialty
• Promote careers reflection
• Opportunity to find out what is needed to succeed, progress or enjoy this specialty in terms of skills, attributes and behaviour

What can I do during my Paediatric Emergency Taster Day?

• Time with senior clinician(s) in the specialty, observing work, discussing careers pathways, future opportunities and work life balance issues.
• Time with current trainees (of various grades) in the specialty, observing work, discussing what life is like as a trainee in the specialty, work life balance, how their careers choices were made, current and future shift patterns, exams, curricula and entry to specialty.
• Time with key workers who support the specialty such as Emergency Nurse Practitioners
• Opportunity to participate in hands on activities under direct supervision
• Learning about triage, patient flow and departmental performance
• Observe resuscitation of trauma patients and learn about how trauma centres work
• Attend departmental teaching, radiology meetings, safeguarding meetings, simulation sessions 

How To Organise a Paediatric Emergency Taster Day?

• Taster Days should be taken during study leave with local agreement or in your own time which would be a good example of your commitment to the specialty if and when you decide to apply!

• Include some out-of-hours time to ensure you get a true experience of what life in Paediatric ED is really like.

• For more information on arranging your taster days contact any of the following people:

 

East Midlands

Nottingham University Hospital - Dr Lynda Walton lynda.walton@nuh.nhs.uk

North Royal Derby Hospital - Dr Gisela Robinson Gisela.robinson@nhs.net and Dr Julia Surridge Julia.surridge@nhs.net

University Hospitals of Leicester - Dr Ffion Davies Ffion.davies@uhl-tr.nhs.uk, Dr Samantha Jones Samantha.J.Jones@uhl-tr.nhs.uk, Dr Rachel Rowlands Rachel.Rowlands@uhl-tr.nhs.uk

 

London 

Chelsea and Westminster - Dr James Ross james.ross@chelwest.nhs.uk and Dr Ed Abrahamson ed.abrahamson@chelwest.nhs.uk

Evelina Children's Hospital, St Thomas' Hospital - Dr Nicola McDonald nicola.mcdonald@gstt.nhs.uk and Dr John Criddle john.criddle@gstt.nhs.uk

Royal London Hospital - Dr Ami Parikh ami.parikh@bartshealth.nhs.uk and Dr Simon Walsh simon.walsh@bartshealth.nhs.uk

St Mary’s Hospital - Dr Rebecca Salter rebecca.salter@imperial.nhs.uk

University Hospital Lewisham - Dr Jane Bayreuter jbayreuter@nhs.net

 

Kent Surrey Sussex

Royal Alexandra Childrens Hospital, Brighton. 

Dr Emily Walton emily.walton@bsuh.nhs.uk

 

Mersey

Alder Hey Children’s Hospital - Dr Julie Grice julie.grice@alderhey.nhs.uk, Dr Ravi Massey ravi.massey@alderhey.nhs.uk and Dr Matt Rotheram mattrotheram@nhs.net

 

Northern

Sunderland Royal Hospital, Great North Children’s Hospital - Dr Siri Gautam Srijana.Gautam@chsft.nhs.uk and
Dr Myra Hebert myra.herbert@chsft.nhs.uk

 

Severn

Bristol Children’s Hospital - Dr Mark Lyttle mark.lyttle@uhbristol.nhs.uk


West Midlands - Birmingham Children’s Hospital - Dr Kath Berry kathleen.berry@bch.nhs.uk and Dr Tina Newton tina.newton@bch.nhs.ukWest Midlands

Birmingham Children’s Hospital - Dr Kath Berry kathleen.berry@bch.nhs.uk and Dr Tina Newton tina.newton@bch.nhs.uk

 

Yorkshire and Humber

Sheffield Children's Hopsital - Dr Sally Gibbs Sally.Gibbs@sch.nhs.uk  and Dr Judith Gilchrist Judith.gilchrist@Sch.nhs.uk


Northern Ireland

Royal Belfast Hospital for Sick Children - Dr Julieann Maney julieann.maney@belfasttrust.hscni.net

 

Scotland

Royal Hospital for Sick Children Glasgow - Dr Vince Choudhery vincent.choudhery@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

Royal Hospital for Sick Children Edinburgh - Dr Paul Leonard Paul.Leonard@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk

 

If you're hoping to spend some time at a hospital not listed above, contact Jacqui at pemtraininguk@gmail.com